• Category

  • Partners and affiliates

    IFJ Space CPJ Space IFEX Space RSF
  • Advertisements

Public Service Media Award Ceremonies held for Provinces

(17th DM)   
The Public Service Media Award Ceremony for upholding diversity, patience and human rights covering Sabaragamuwa, Central, North – East and Uva provinces was held recently.
Three provincial media personnel of the Wijeya Newspapers Ltd., won awards and two of them were from the Daily Mirror newspaper. Matale Lankadeepa correspondent M.W. Somaratne won the award for human rights reportage and Dambulla Lankadeepa correspondent Kanchana Kumara Ariyadasa for Public Service reportage. Matale Lankadeepa correspondent Nimal S. Bogahawatta came second and Gaya Wanniaracchi of Lakbima newspaper came third in Public Service reportage. The award ceremony was held at Devon Hotel Kandy on October 12, 2008.

The Public Service Award Ceremony 2008 for the Uva Province was held at the Uva Education Community Centre on October 13, 2008.  Viyaluwa Daily Mirror and Lankadeepa correspondent Nishantha Kumara won the award and the first prize of Rs.15,000 for his news feature on “Elephant Menace, ” that appeared in the Sunday Lankadeepa newspaper and the third prize of Rs.12,500 for his news feature ‘Shortcomings in postal services in Uva’ that appeared in the Daily Mirror newspaper.

Daily Mirror correspondent Sujeewa I. Kumari who wrote about the hardships facing the maize farmers came second.

Sanjeewa Bandara of the Sunday Lankadeepa who highlighted the problems involving the issue of National Identity Cards to the Tamil community in the Moneragala district received the award and the cash prize of Rs.10,000 for upholding diversity.

Ajith Wasantha Epa of the Uva Community Broadcasting Service received the award for Human Rights reportage. His feature programme on children selling flowers in the Kataragama sacred city brought him the award. Ayesha Udeni of Uva Broadcasting Service won the special evaluation prize. H.T.M. Faiz of the Thinakural newspaper, Sanjeewa Bandara of the Lakbima newspaper and Cyril Jayasinghe of the Divaina newspaper received certificates of merit.

The Public Service Media Award Ceremony was held at the Kurulukele Hotel in Kegalle on October 12, 2008. Lasanatha Niroshan Perera of the Rivira newspaper won the award for his news feature on  a dispute between the doctors and the nurses that claimed four lives.

Nimal Abeysinghe of Siyatha came second and was awarded for his article on the Udabowala Colony and Lasantha Niroshan Perera for his article on the ‘Fever Epidemic in Ratnapura’ that appeared in the Lankadeepa.

The Eastern Province Media Award Ceremony was held at Ampara Town Hall on October 14, 2008.

R.G. Dharmadasa of BBC Sandeshaya won the Public Service Media Award and the cash prize of Rs.15,000.

Mangalika Liyanarachchi of Ground Veine, who came second, received a cash prize of Rs. 12,500. Saman Mallawarachchi of Inter News Radio won the third price of Rs.10,000.

Mohmed Jaleel, Vadivel Shakthivel, U.M Ishaq and K.M. Kushankini of Inter News Road received certificates of merit while M.S.M. Farook won the award for upholding diversity and a cash prize of Rs.10,000.

%d bloggers like this: