Rupavahini’s DG ordered to resign

   
        
   
  Media Minister Anura Priyadarshana Yapa has ordered Director-General of the Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation Sisira Kotelawala to immediately tender his resignation.

Yesterday (Feb. 29th), Chairman of the Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation Sunil Sarath Perera was removed from the post.

The moves are said to be part of efforts by the President to restructure the state media after several cabinet ministers and trade unions had warned him that the administration of state media institutions was in complete turmoil.

Sunil Sarath Perera had spoken to the SLBC staff in his farewell speech, and prayed that not his worst enemy be faced with a similar situation.

“When governments change, heads of state institutions are told to resign. The letter informing me of my removal had thoughtlessly been sent to my home. Not even my worst enemy should face such a situation.”

“Yesterday at 4.00 pm I had a meeting with the minister regarding the Tamil Service. After that I was attending the funeral of Mr. Tyronne Fernando, when I was told by home that there was a letter for me that says I have been removed.”

“If the president does not want me here, I won’t stay. I tried to make the SLBC a public service radio. I did not go after commercial objectives. That was the reason for disagreements with certain ministry officials. That may be one of the reasons for my removal,” he said.
 – www.lankadissent.com